NCNA History

The "North Carolina Numismatic Association" was originally formed in 1959 as the "North Carolina Coin Clubs Association" . The founding fathers purpose was to bring together local coin clubs and their members, as well as those interested in numismatics to areas where no local clubs were available.

The hope that one centralized state organization could help to bring benefits to the local area for additional education, promotion and assistance in maintaining and forming local clubs. The NCNA is continuing to attempt to do so. At present there are 27 Clubs within the State as well as neighboring States that participate in the efforts.

The Directors and Officers of the NCNA are continually looking for ways that they can help to provide educational opportunities and additional benefits for it's Membership.

The Association holds an annual convention in the fall of each year. In addition to a bourse that features over 100 tables, the Association provides space and display cases for educational numismatic exhibits. Individuals compete for prizes that are awarded at the convention banquet. The convention always draws many informative and well-crafted exhibits.

The Association also publishes a quarterly journal, the NCNA Journal. It features a president's message, articles written by members, a coin show calendar, profiles of member clubs, and advertisements from member dealers.

North Carolina Coin Clubs Association Presidents

  1959 Charles B. Robinson  
  1960 E. J. Stoker  
  1961 J.T. (Jim) Pheagin  
  1962 E. Plonski  
  1963 J.W. Jackson Jr.  
  1964 T. C. Lohr  
  1965 C.W. (Claude) Rankin  
  1966 J.W.B. Bason  
  1967 Ted H. Hendrick  
  1968 J.T. (Jim) Pheagin  
  1969-1970 Don Cloninger  
  1971 F.M. (Forrest) Michael  
January 1, 1972 - Changed name to North Carolina Numismatic Association
1972 Marion Davis 1985-1986 Donald G. Sharpe
1973 E.T. Register 1987-1988 Wilburne F. Springs
1974 Ray McGuire 1989-1990 D. Clark White
1975 C.E. McHarque 1991-1992 Autence A. Bason
1976 D.L. (Dan) Talbert 1993-1994 Charles L. Kimber
1977 L.D. (Lonnie) Stewart 1995 Paul J. Greene
1978 J.W. (Jim) Little 1996-1997 Will Jordan
1979 W.J. (Bill) Wright 1998-2001 Halbert Carmichael
1980 J. Tony Helton 2002-2003 Bob Schreiner
1981 David D. Porter 2004-2006 Barry Ciociola
1982 Edward E. Moore 2007-2012 Bill Brewer
1983-1984 H. Fred Simpson, Jr. 2013 Jim Neely